LIVE STREAM ONLINE CME – Internal Medicine Update for Primary Care

Sep 25, 2020 – Sep 25, 2020

Online Live Stream - CME

Internal Medicine Update for Primary Care 

This online live stream CME activity is acceptable for up to 6 Prescribed credits by the American Academy of Family Physicians.

This online live stream is designed to provide primary care clinicians with up-to-date, evidence-based information on commonly encountered issues in Internal Medicine, while suggesting pragmatic approaches to clinical management. The online learning format will encourage audience participation through dynamic lectures, case-based studies, and hands-on workshops. Keynote speakers will present and critically assess recent advancements and industry updates in Internal Medicine for Primary Care, with the goal of enhancing the knowledge-base and core competence of attendees. The successful completion of this interactive program diagnosing, treating, and prescribing the most effective courses of treatment, with the ultimate goal of improving patient outcomes.

Please see the Overview & Agenda tab below for additional information on the Presenting Faculty Speakers, Daily Program Schedule, and Topics & Objectives for each date listed below. 

Note: Content is subject to change without notice. Please refer to the activity website for the most current information.

*Please select I do not need lodging for all online live stream CME Events.

Tuition

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are no longer available
Tickets are no longer available

MCE Cancellation Policy

Option 1 Option 2
Up to 90 days before conference date Refund - Less $50 processing fee Credit - 100%
Up to 30 days before conference date Refund - Less $100 processing fee Credit - Less $50 processing fee
Up to 7 days before conference date Refund - Less $250 processing fee Credit - Less $100 processing fee
Within 7 days of conference date No Refund Available Credit - Less $250 processing fee
  • Credits expire three years from the date of issue.
  • Credits applied to a future conference are non-refundable.

Tuition Discount

Past Attendees Save $50: Past MCE Conferences attendees (within the previous three years) automatically receive a $50 discount at checkout.

Bring a Friend or Colleague and Save $50: If you are attending with another healthcare professional you are eligible for a $50 discount.

Overview & Agenda

Internal Medicine Update 

Overview
This online live stream is designed to provide primary care clinicians with up-to-date, evidence-based information on commonly encountered issues in Internal Medicine while suggesting pragmatic approaches to clinical management. The online learning format will encourage audience participation through dynamic lectures, case-based studies, and hands-on workshops. Keynote speakers will present and critically assess recent advancements and industry updates in Internal Medicine for Primary Care, with the goal of enhancing the knowledge-base and core competence of attendees. The successful completion of this interactive program diagnosing, treating, and prescribing the most effective courses of treatment, with the ultimate goal of improving patient outcomes.

Target Audience
All Physicians and other Healthcare Professionals seeking clinical information and updates in Internal Medicine for Primary Care.

Presenting Faculty Speakers
Our presenting national faculty speakers make it their professional goal to enhance the training of primary care clinicians and to help you learn the most current, best medicine, and techniques for making the diagnosis easier and quicker during a 20-minute office visit.

David A. Horowitz, MD – Associate Chief Medical Officer, University of Pennsylvania Health System, Philadelphia, PA. Chief Medical Officer, Clinical Practices, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA. Associate Professor, Clinical Medicine, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA.

Douglas S. Paauw, MD, MCAP – Professor of Medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine, University of Washington, Seattle, WA. Rathmann Family Foundation Endowed Chair for Patient-Centered Clinical Education. Attending Physician, University of Washington Medical Center and Harborview Medical Center, Seattle, WA.

Agenda and Topics – Friday, September 25

10:00 AM – 11:00 AM EDT/ 7:00 AM – 8:00 AM PDT:
Practical Approach to the Patient with Hypertension – Dr. David Horowitz
Objectives: 1) Apply the current recommendations for the treatment of hypertension 2) Develop a rational approach to choosing medication for treating hypertension 3) Decide when and how to evaluate for secondary hypertension

11:00 AM – 11:05AM EDT/ 8:00 AM – 8:05 AM PDT – BREAK

11:05 AM – 12:05 PM EDT/ 8:05 AM – 9:05 AM PDT:
A Clinical Approach to the Management of Hypothyroidism, the Elevated “TSH.” and the Patient with a Thyroid Nodule – Dr. David Horowitz
Objectives: 1) Appreciate the role of the screening TSH and what to do with the results 2) Develop a reasonable and cost-effective approach to diagnosing the thyroid nodule 3) Discuss the management of hypothyroidism

12:05 PM – 12:10PM EDT/ 9:05 AM – 9:10 AM PDT – BREAK

12:10 PM – 1:10 PM EDT/ 9:10 AM – 10:10 AM PDT:
Practical Approach to the Patient with Headache – Dr. David Horowitz
Objectives: 1) Review the differential diagnosis of a patient presenting with the complaint of headache 2) More confidently evaluate the Patient with headache and appreciate the indications for imaging 3) Develop a treatment plan that considers lifestyle changes as well as medication

1:10 PM – 1:30 PM EDT/ 10:10 AM – 10:30 AM PDT – BREAK

1:30 PM – 2:30 PM EDT/ 10:30 AM – 11:30 AM PDT:
Medical Myths (Busting Medical Myths) Dr. Douglas Paauw
Objectives: 1) Recognize medical myths 2) Recognize why they occur 3) Explain why they persist despite evidence against them

2:30 PM – 2:35PM EDT/ 11:30 AM – 11:35 AM PDT- BREAK

2:35 PM – 3:35 PM EDT/ 11:35 AM – 12:35 PM PDT:
Drug Interactions and Side Effects for 2020 – Dr. Douglas Paauw
Objectives: 1) Effectively manage patients on statins if respect to muscle symptoms 2) Recognize major drug interactions with warfarin 3) Know the dangers of quinolone

3:35 PM – 3:40 EDT/ 12:35 PM – 12:40 PM PDT – BREAK

3:40 PM – 4:40 PM EDT/ 12:40 PM – 1:40 PM PDT:
Dermatology for the Primary Care Professional – Dr. Douglas Paauw
Objectives: 1) Identify and know the causes of erythema multiforme 2) Recognize the cutaneous manifestations of hepatitis C 3) Recognize the different patterns that help with diagnosis of groin rashes

(Note: Content is subject to change without notice. Please refer to the activity website for the most current information.)

Program Schedule

Date

Location

Description

Time

Friday - September 25, 2020

Online Live Stream

Webinar

Online live stream access information will be provided upon registration.

7:00 AM - 1:40 PM PT (10:00 AM - 4:40 PM ET)

Accreditation

Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education – ACCME

MCE Conferences is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

MCE Conferences designates this live activity for a maximum of 6 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credits commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

ABIM MOC Recognition

Successful completion of this CME activity, which includes participation in the evaluation component, enables the participant to earn up to 6 (part II) MOC points in the American Board of Internal Medicine’s (ABIM) Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program. Participants will earn MOC points equivalent to the amount of CME credits claimed for the activity. It is the CME activity provider’s responsibility to submit participant completion information to ACCME for the purpose of granting ABIM MOC credit.

American Academy of Family Physicians – AAFP

This live activity has been reviewed and is acceptable for up to 6 Prescribed credits by the American Academy of Family Physicians. AAFP Prescribed credit is accepted by the American Medical Association as equivalent to the AMA PRA category 1 credit toward the AMA Physicians Recognition Award. Physicians should only claim credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

The College of Family Physicians of Canada – Mainpro-M1

The American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) is the accrediting body for family medicine continuing medical education (CME) in the United States of America. CFPC members who complete any live CME/CPD program accredited by the AAFP for Prescribed credit can claim the equivalent number of Mainpro-M1 credits. Canadian Healthcare professionals in other specialties need to verify with their licensing board the reciprocal credit agreement with the AAFP.

American Osteopathic Association – AOA

CME activities approved for AAFP credit are recognized by the AOA as equivalent to AOA Category 2 credit.

American Academy of Physician Assistants – AAPA

AAPA accepts Category 1 CME approval from the AAFP.

American Association of Nurse Practitioners – AANP

AAFP Prescribed Credits are accepted by the AANP.

American Nurses Credentialing Center – ANCC

According to the ANCC, the continuing education hours approved by the AAFP meet the ANCC-accredited CNE criteria.

Pharmacology Credits

This course is being  reviewed and will be acceptable for up to 12 CE credits; please verify with your Medical Board which hours may be applied toward Pharmacology credit.

Hotel Accommodations

Not applicable to online live stream CME.

Additional Travel Information

Not applicable to online live stream CME.

Other Upcoming Conferences

25 Sep - 27 Sep

What Are You Waiting For?

Register Early! In order to provide a quality and interactive CME program, MCE Conferences will limit the amount of registrations per conference. Some conferences may have a lower registration limit due to the destination logistics and lodging availability.

View CME Conferences or Call Us: 1-888-533-9031

Contact Form IconCall Us Icon